Mazeikiai Museum was established in 1928. It preserves and exhibits archeology, ethnography and folklore art collections of the Samogitian region.
Mazeikiai District Municipality is the founder of the museum.
The first founder of the museum and a long-term director was teacher Stasys Lickūnas.
Presently, the museum has permanent exhibits as well as temporal exhibits of history and nature where visitors get to see the items preserved at the museum. Approximately 10 exhibits of this kind are opened annually.
The premises of the museum and its affiliates host different visiting art exhibits as well as various creative camps, symposiums and conferences of artists.
From 1996, the museum owns the Renava park with a castle in it which are located in a picturesque Varduva curve. The castle features a permanent manor culture exhibit and temporal exhibits.
There is an affiliate of the museum in Zidikai small town. It is a memorial museum of writer and philanthropist Satrijos Ragana. The museum exhibits authentic possessions of the writer and her closest people. It also presents the collected material about her.
A memorial museum of sculptor Bronius Pundzius waits for the visitors in a picturesque country house in Pievieniai.
Renavas manor museum
The memorial museum of writer
The memorial museum of sculptor
© Samogitian Cultural
Association Editorial Board, 1998.